App | 中文 |


Govt policy moves from past week

Updated: Sep 29,2020 07:02 AM    China Daily

Master plan issued for three more pilot FTZs

The State Council has issued a master plan for three new pilot free trade zones in Beijing, Central China's Hunan province and East China's Anhui province amid efforts to lift the country's opening-up to a higher level.

The plan outlines the priorities for each pilot free trade zone and pledges to give them more space to explore reforms and expand opening-up.

Covering an area of 119.68 square kilometers, the Beijing pilot FTZ will include areas for science and technological innovation, international business services, and high-end industries, according to the plan.

It will focus on supporting the construction of an innovation center with global influence, accelerate the construction of a leading area for the expansion of trade in services and a pilot area for the digital economy.

The Beijing pilot FTZ will also strive to build a high-level opening-up platform for the coordinated development of the Beijing-Tianjin-Hebei region.

The new pilot FTZ in Hunan covers an area of 119.76 sq km. It will focus on building a world-class advanced manufacturing cluster, an international investment and trade corridor linking the Yangtze River Economic Belt and the Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area, and a leading area for in-depth economic and trade cooperation between China and Africa, the plan said.

The Anhui pilot FTZ, covering an area of 119.86 sq km is expected to set the standard for opening-up in the inland region.

According to the plan, it will focus on promoting the in-depth integration of scientific and technological innovation with the development of the real economy.

It will also accelerate the pace of its pioneering role in scientific and technological innovation and the cluster development of advanced manufacturing and strategic emerging industries, and promote the integrated development of the Yangtze River Delta.

The State Council also adopted a plan to expand the area of the pilot FTZ in the coastal province of Zhejiang in East China.

The added section will focus on building a new type of international trade center, an international shipping and logistics hub, and the construction of a commodity allocation base centered on oil and gas.

The section will also see the construction of a digital economy development demonstration zone and an area for advanced manufacturing industries.

China previously established 18 pilot FTZs in areas including Shanghai and the provinces of Guangdong, Liaoning, Hainan and Shandong.

Speaking at a news conference on Sept 21, Vice-Minister of Commerce Wang Shouwen said expansion of the pilot FTZs aims to accelerate the formation of a new development pattern through a higher level of opening-up.