App | 中文 |


New Macao chief executive appointed

Updated: Sep 11,2019 09:15 PM

Premier Li Keqiang met with Ho Iat Seng on Sept 11 at the central leadership compound of Zhongnanhai in Beijing and issued a State Council decree appointing Ho as the fifth chief executive of the Macao Special Administrative Region.

Vice-Premier Han Zheng chaired the issuing ceremony.

Premier Li congratulated Ho on assuming the new chief executive.

He said that since Macao returned to the motherland, the principle of "one country, two systems” and Basic Law of the Macao Special Administrative Region have been to the fore.

He further said that great achievements have been made in economic development, people’s livelihoods, social causes and stability, and collaboration with the mainland, which not only come from the efforts of Macao government and Macao’s social circles led by chief executives, but also from central government and mainland support.

This year marks the 20th anniversary of Macao’s return to motherland, and central government will continue to implement the principles of “one country, two systems” and “Macao people administering Macao”, the Premier said.

The Premier said that central government will support the new Macao administration in line with the Constitution and basic law.

He said he hopes Ho leads the Macao government and all social walks of Macao to make use of the opportunity of the Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area development, make progress in improving people’s livelihoods, and elevate the practice of “one country, two systems” to a new stage in Macao.

Ho said he appreciates central government’s appointment, saying that he will strictly adhere to the principle of “one country, two systems”, the Constitution and the basic law, and promote the diverse development of Macao’s economy.

Ho further pledged to improve people’s livelihoods, actively participate in the building of the Greater Bay Area, and maintain development momentum to meet the expectations of central government and the Macao people.

State Councilors Wang Yi, Xiao Jie and Zhao Kezhi also attended the ceremony.