App | 中文 |

China to increase polar research cooperation with six countries

Updated: May 26,2017 9:19 AM     Xinhua

BEIJING — The Chinese Arctic and Antarctic Administration (CAAA) on May 25 signed memorandums of understanding with polar region research institutions from six countries in order to step up cooperation in the field.

According to the administration, the memorandums will deepen cooperation with Argentina, Chile, Germany, Norway, Russia and the United States, in fields such as site inspection, scientific research, logistic support, environmental protection and management, personnel exchanges, policy planning and education.

All sides agreed to practice international cooperation as advocated by the Antarctic Treaty to deepen practical cooperation.

The CAAA is under the administration of the State Oceanic Administration, which has led its affiliated institutions to sign cooperative agreements with more than 10 countries in the study of Arctic and Antarctic regions.