App | 中文 |

National innovation demonstration zone in Anhui officially approved

Updated: Jun 20,2016 1:46 PM

The State Council officially approved establishing a national innovation demonstration zone in Anhui province on June 16.

The demonstration zone includes three high-tech zones located in Hefei, the provincial capital of Anhui, and two other cities, - Wuhu and Bengbu.

The plan is aimed at building a leading innovation and reform center in China, by implementing the strategy of innovation-driven development, boosting entrepreneurship, and exploring new economic impetus.

The demonstration zone needs to explore many areas such as new strategic industry, transformation of technology achievements, and protection of intellectual property rights.

In order to achieve these goals, advantages in education, technology and industry in the three cities should be fully utilized, the document says. It adds that the new demonstration zone should continue to simplify administrative procedures, delegate powers to lower levels and improve public services.

The State Council asks for support from related departments in setting up the new zone. It also demands Anhui’s provincial government to firmly implement the plan and policies.