App | 中文 |


Updated: Jan 1,2015 12:45 PM

There are currently seven official public holidays in China. Each year’s holidays are announced weeks before the start of the year by the General Office of the State Council.

Weekends are usually swapped with the weekdays next to the actual holiday to create a longer vacation period.

Lunar New Year’s Eve is still a statutory holiday in 2015, as the Spring Festival holiday is from the New Year’s Eve to the 2nd day of the first lunar month, according to the national holiday plan for 2015 issued by the State Council on Dec 16, 2014.

Public Holidays for 2015

Name Date Duration
New Year’s Day Jan 1 - Jan 3 three days
Spring Festival Feb 18 - Feb 24 seven days
Qingming Festival April 5 - April 6 two days
Labor Day May 1- May 3 three days
Dragon Boat Festival June 20 - June 22 three days
Mid-Autumn Festival Sept 27 one day
National Day Oct 1- Oct 7 seven days

Additional Public Holidays for Specific Social Groups

Name Date Applicable to
International Women’s Day March 8 Women (half day)
Youth Day May 4 Youth from the age of 14 to 28 (half-day)
Children’s Day June 1 Children below the age of 14 (1 day)
Army Day Aug 1 Military personnel in active service (half-day)