App | 中文 |

Vice-Premier Liu He meets winners of science award

Updated: Jan 9,2019 5:19 PM

Vice-Premier Liu He on Jan 8 met the winners of the 2018 International Scientific and Technological Cooperation Award — American expert on metallurgical engineering Jan Dean Miller, Scottish-American supramolecular chemist James Fraser Stoddart, American materials physicist Yimei Zhu, American ocean geochemist Peter Brewer and Swedish bioengineer Licheng Sun.

Liu extended congratulations to the five winners on behalf of the government, and expressed gratitude for their contributions to the development of science and technology, as well as the modernization of China.

China is transforming from its high-speed development stage to a high-quality development stage, Liu said. To enhance high-quality development, more efforts should be made to achieve progress in science and technology and promote creativity and innovation in all aspects.

In 2019, the government will strengthen intellectual property protection, intensify industry-university cooperation to combine market demands with scientific research, and enhance fundamental research to provide a driving force for innovation and creativity. International cooperation will also be promoted, so that China can draw on foreign countries’ experiences.

Since 1995, a total of 185 foreign experts, two international organizations and one foreign organization have been honored with the International Scientific and Technological Cooperation Award.